Price: £22.75
This product has a maximum quantity of 1
Tags (click for related products):
Crispy Ambulance The Plateau Phase RSD 2019 double clear vinyl
Factory Benelux presents a remastered edition of The Plateau Phase, the inventive debut by Manchester Post Punk group Crispy Ambulance.
Originally released in March 1982, the album has been reissued in a strictly limited edition of 500 clear vinyl copies for RSD 2019.
Recorded at Strawberry 2 with producer Chris Nagle, the album captured Crispy Ambulance at the peak of their creative powers.  “When we started discussing the track selection for this new vinyl edition,” says singer Alan Hempsall, “it struck me that the songs which made the cut were all written and recorded within a very short space of time. July 1980 to September 1981 marked an intensive period of creativity informed by the new music we were being exposed to, and films we’d seen around that time: Eraserhead, Scorpio Rising, Apocalypse Now, Warhol’s Dracula and Argento’s Suspiria all played a part. We became curious about what would result from a partial breaking away from traditional song structures and experimenting with the concept of soundtrack and incidental music. Film music looking for a film, so to speak.”
Bonus tracks on the second disc include lauded 12” single The Presence and Concorde Square, produced by the legendary Martin Hannett at Pink Floyd’s Britannia Row studio, as well as the group’s powerful John Peel session from January 1981. 
Sleeve art by Benoit Hennebert. Inner gatefold portrait by Harry Papadopoulos. New liner notes by Alan Hempsall.
Limited to one copy per person
1. Are You Ready?
2. Travel Time
3. The Force and the Wisdom
4. The Wind Season
5. Death From Above
1. We Move Through the Plateau Phase
2. Bardo Plane
3. Chill
4. Federation
5. Simon’s Ghost
1. The Presence
2. Concorde Square
1. Come On
2. Drug User-Drug Pusher
3. October 31st
4. Egypt