Price: £4.99
Format: CD
Artist: Bettye Lavette
CatNo: SNAX640CD
Tags (click for related products):
Bettye Lavette Nearer To You CD
Bettye Lavette's appearance at Barack Obama's inauguration concert in January 2009, singing 'A Change Is Gonna Come', introduced her to a global audience of millions who had hitherto been totally unaware of her immense talent and interpretive powers.
She now appears regularly on US TV and has had guest slots with Jay Leno, Letterman and on most other significant late night chat shows. She is a true American music legend, although the critical acclaim, awards and accolades, deservedly showered upon her in recent years, were a long time coming.
Lavette recorded for a variety of labels from the early 60s onwards, but many soul fans regard the material she recorded for Silver Fox and SSS International in Memphis in the late 60s and early 70s as among her finest.  'Nearer To You', is a complete collection of the great soul singer's recordings from these labels. It includes her collaborations with Hank Ballard plus two bonus tracks from 1978.  This is the first time this collection has been available in two decades.
1. He Made A Woman Out Of Me
2. Nearer To You
3. Do Your Duty
4. Love's Made A Fool Out Of Me
5. My Train's Coming In
6. Games People Play
7. At The Mercy Of A Man
8. Piece Of My Heart
9. Let's Go, Let's Go, Let's Go *
10. Hello, Sunshine *
11. We Got To Slip Around
12. Easier To Say (Than Do)
13. Let Me Down Easy
14. I'm In Love
15. Feelings
16. Living Life On A Shoestring
* with Hank Ballard