Price: £10.00
Format: CD
Artist: Beren Matthews
CatNo: BFR05
Tags (click for related products):
Beren_Matthews Place_Circumstance CD Grip-Like_Vice
In recent years guitarist, Beren Matthews has joined alt-rock leading lights The Pineapple Thief for US and European tours and performed headlining shows in the UK and Japan with pop royalty Dave Stewart & Barbara Gaskin. Hand-picked by drummer Gavin Harrison and cited by keyboardist Stewart as "the most dynamic and versatile guitarist I've worked with," Matthews also pursues a parallel solo career in which his distinctive and original songwriting style comes to the fore.
Recorded with his band Grip-Like Vice over a three-year period, Place//Circumstance charts a turbulent period in the life of a young Cornish musician dealing with financial hardship, homelessness and relationship turmoil at a time of unpredictable change. Melodic, carefully-crafted and bearing traces of XTC, the album blends a furious rock attitude with moments of melancholic self-reflection.
An unfiltered and deeply affecting autobiographical exposé direct from the Cornish underground.


1. Feign Martyr
2. Alphabet
3. House Is...
4. But It's Not Christmas
5. Get Inside, Go Nowhere
6. Later is Now
7. Future-Past
8. With the Band (redux)
9. 15:30 Beer
10. Invested