Price: £7.99
Format: CD
Artist: Accidental Suicide
CatNo: CDVILED1021
Tags (click for related products):
Accidental Suicide Deceased CD Peaceville
Accidental Suicide's cult 1992 debut of doom-tinged death metal savagery.
This 2022 CD edition of Deceased - marking 30 years since the original release - includes the original artwork and lyrics.
Formed in 1989 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA, and among the group of earlier death metal acts to grace the label roster, Accidental Suicide released their one, sole album in 1992, originally through Peaceville’s Deaf Records imprint, which was the initial home of other notable acts such as At the Gates and Morta Skuld.
Being much more than a pure “blast” styled death metal outfit, Accidental Suicide introduced and utilised a doomier presence also, even bringing to mind other classic pioneers of the genre such as Paradise Lost, to lend a twisted and at times sombre dynamic to the tracks, with this effective diversity to the compositions through the tempo variations and deranged melodic passages scattered throughout the album. The tortured and sinister vocals of Ed Jackson narrates tales of morbid brutality and murder behind a wall of punishing riffs, for what stands as a prime example of classic early 90s death metal execution.
‘Deceased’ was engineered and mixed at Mauer Brothers Recording Studio in Milwaukee, with production work handled by Eric “Griffy” Greif.
Cover artwork was created by Chris Drew, also responsible for other early Peaceville artwork on Impaler’s ‘Charnel Deity’, and Baphomet’s ‘The Dead Shall Inherit’.
1 Misery Hunt
2 The Life I Hate
3 Morbid Indulgence
4 Flesh Parade
5 Unknown
6 Method Of Murder
7 Agony Of Rebirth
8 Homicidal Entrails
9 My Dangling Corpse
10 To Eat The Heart