Quiet Sun was Phil Manzanera's pre-Roxy Music band, with Bill MacCormick (Matching Mole / Random Hold), Charles Hayward (This Heat) and Dave Jarrett.

A stunning, Psychedelically inclined Progressive Jazz Rock album, Mainstream was recorded 4 years after the band's break-up during the night-shift sessions for Manzanera's debut solo album, Diamond Head.
Occasionally echoing the styles of early Soft Machine, Pink Floyd and King Crimson, and hinting at the ambition of the 801 project to come, Mainstream is the only remaining legacy of this great 'lost' British band.
This edition comes in a beautiful DVD sized digi-book format and features extra tracks and a comprehensive booklet containing many period reviews and photos.
Please not: these copies are NOT signed by Phil Manzanera.
Quiet Sun originally formed around Dulwich College in 1970 as a four-piece progressive rock band featuring Phil Manzanera (guitar), Bill MacCormick (bass), Charles Hayward (drums), and Dave Jarrett (keyboards). 
The band name came from an article on sunspots and solar flares that MacCormick's brother Ian had been reading, called The Year of the Quiet Sun. 
The group managed to score a rehearsal space from Warner Bros. and toured around the south of England gaining a small following, but were never signed. 
In 1971, Manzanera left to join Roxy Music, MacCormick joined Matching Mole, Jarrett went into teaching, and Hayward joined Gong. 
Three years later, Manzanera was riding high on Roxy Music and decided to reform Quiet Sun while spending the latter part of 1974 working on a solo album to be known as Diamond Head. Manzanera booked 12-hour studio days, recording his solo album for eight and Quiet Sun for four, resulting in Mainstream. The group mostly re-recorded the songs they had rehearsed back in 1970, though several songs from that time instead found their way onto Diamond Head, including Frontera (later re-recorded by Robert Wyatt as Team Spirit on Ruth Is Stranger Than Richard) and Alma. Both albums formed the basis of much of 801's live shows, which featured Manzanera and MacCormick. Hayward left to form This Heat. 
For a while, after initial pressings of Mainstream went out of print, the CD of the album was only obtainable through an expensive Japanese import. In 1999 Mainstream was re-released on Manzanera's own label, Now 2011 comes the Collectors edition , in book form complete with a number of the early, pre-Roxy Quiet Sun demos and new pictures and memorabilia . 
Ted Mills
"Mainstream is probably the most invigorating record you're likely to hear this Summer inspired musicianship, total lack of compromise and, most importantly, a sense of feverish excitement and utter dedication."
"The most manic and passionate rush of music that has been committed to vinyl so far this year. Positively lethal in its uncompromising intensity. I can think of no more than a handful of albums released this year which demand your attention as much as Mainstream"
(Melody Maker)
"A dazzling piece of post 60s Soft-ish instrumental complexorama. Their music is intriguing, intense and at times extremely volatile." (Disc) 
"It does exude considerable quantities of intense manic energy, and, better still, it's totally unpredictable and instrumentally rather skilfully executed." (NME)
"Exhilaratingly energetic, fresh and inventive. There are echoes of early Soft Machine, the Nice and Gong and, as a bonus, a Sid Barrett vocal by Hayward on Rongwrong. This is one of the year's best records."
(Hi-Fi for Pleasure)
"What's on this vinyl is a ferocious combination of the ideas on the first two Velvet Underground albums coupled with the musical inventiveness of King Crimson or Soft Machine. This album must be heard to be believed. The musicians are superb, the production flawless." (Trouser Press)
"It's all mighty good, fervent stuff, bursting with energy and tottering between tranquility and pandemonium." (Liquorice)


1. Sol Caliente (7:35)
2. Trumpet With Motherhood (1:47)
3. Bargain Classics (5:49)
4. R. F. D. (3:22)
5. Mummy Was An Asteroid..... (6:01)
6. Trot (5:14)
7. Rongwrong (9:29)
Bonus Tracks:
8. Years Of The Quiet Sun (10.34)
9. Trot (original demo) (10.25)
10. R.F.D. (Warner Bros demo) (6.14)
11. R.F.D. Part 1 (Mainstream session) (2.25)
12. Talking History (interviews) (8.02)


Charles Hayward - drums, percussion, keyboards & voices
Dave Jarrett - keyboards
Phil Manzanera - guitars, keyboards
Bill MacCormick - bass guitars & voices
Brian Eno - synthesizers, treatments and oblique strategies
Ian MacCormick - voices