Price: £19.99
Format: Vinyl
Artist: Darkroom
CatNo: bshed1303v
Tags (click for related products):
Gravitys Dirty Work double vinyl Darkroom
The Darkroom duo of Michael Bearpark (No-Man, Henry Fool) and Andrew Ostler (Expert Sleepers) return to Burning Shed with their first double album.
Begun as an exploration of early 90's electronica and its many sources, the album developed from extended improvisations through meticulous editing, layering and post-production into a coherent suite of music.
The trademark blurring of guitars, synthesiser and found sounds moves from the heavenly Beck meets Talk Talk atmospherics of 'Karhupuisto / Beautiful Retreat'  via the apocalyptic foot-on-monitor fuzz mayhem of the title track coda, before closing with the evocative Scandinavian jazz-electronica fusion of 'A Pair A Part'.
"Brimming with exquisite hooks, sub-sonic grooves and luscious immersive environments… Gravity’s Dirty Work from progressive electronica outfit Darkroom has all the drama, drive and dynamic punch you’d expect from a rock album. At times sepulchral and brooding, at others transcendent and uplifting, it ends in lost-summer reveries and echoey melancholia." Sid Smith
Also featuring Andrew Booker (No-Man, Henry Fool, Sanguine Hum) on percussion and Simon H. Fell (Keith Tippett, Derek Bailey, Lol Coxhill) on double bass, the album is mastered for all formats by Jon Astley (The Who, George Harrison, Tori Amos).
Available on CD and limited edition gatefold double heavyweight (180g) vinyk, both with Carl Glover's unique artwork.
All LPs come with a high resolution lossless audio download code.
1. strung with black nylon 06:52
2. baby armageddon 07:50
3. there's no such thing as noise 08:12
4. karhupuisto / beautiful retreat 06:42
5. ahead finitely 03:54
6. gravity's dirty work 10:56
7. memorianova 07:00
8. a pair a part 08:50
Darkroom are 
Michael Bearpark: electric guitars, pedals, loops and feedback, bass
Andrew Ostler: synthesizers, keyboards, programming 
Rekoob Werdna: cymbals (1) 
Simon Taylor: trumpet (8) 
Simon H. Fell: double bass (8) 
Andrew Booker: percussion (8) 
Recorded by Andrew Ostler 
Mixed and produced by Darkroom 
Finalised by Jon Astley at Close To The Edge 
Design by Carl Glover for Aleph Studio